Buddha – The Enlightened One

Buddha – The Enlightened One

Buddhism is one of the world’s major religions, with millions of followers globally. Its founder, Siddhartha Gautama, was a spiritual teacher from ancient India, commonly known as Buddha, meaning “the awakened one.” His teachings emphasize the pursuit of inner peace, harmony, and wisdom, and are widely practiced for their transformative power. In Hinduism, Buddha is considered as an Avatar (incarnation) of Lord Vishnu. In this essay, we will explore the life, teachings, and legacy of Buddha, the Enlightened One.

Birth and Early Life

Siddhartha Gautama was born in the sixth century BCE in Lumbini, Nepal. According to legend, his mother, Queen Maya, had a dream of a white elephant entering her womb, a symbol of the child’s future greatness. Siddhartha grew up in a life of luxury as a prince, shielded from the harsh realities of the world. However, he was not content with his sheltered existence and sought greater understanding of the human condition.

The Quest for Enlightenment

At the age of 29, Siddhartha left his royal life behind and set out to discover the meaning of life. He traveled extensively and encountered different religious and philosophical traditions, but none of them provided him with the answers he sought. Eventually, he settled under a Bodhi tree in Bodh Gaya, India, and meditated for 49 days, vowing not to rise until he found enlightenment. On the morning of the full moon in May, he experienced a profound awakening, gaining insight into the nature of suffering and the path to liberation.

The Four Noble Truths

Buddha’s enlightenment revealed to him the Four Noble Truths, which he taught as the foundation of his philosophy. The first truth is that all life involves suffering. The second truth is that suffering arises from craving and attachment. The third truth is that suffering can be overcome by letting go of attachment and craving. The fourth truth is that there is a path to freedom from suffering, known as the Noble Eightfold Path.

The Eightfold Path

The Eightfold Path is a core concept in Buddhist philosophy and practice. It is a set of eight interconnected principles that guide individuals on the path to enlightenment and liberation from suffering. These eight principles include right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration. Each of these principles is considered essential for developing the wisdom, ethical conduct, and mental discipline necessary to achieve liberation. The Eightfold Path emphasizes the importance of taking responsibility for one’s own actions, cultivating mindfulness, and living with compassion towards all living beings.

The Threefold Path

The Threefold Path is another important concept in Buddhist philosophy. Actually it is a shortened way of ‘the Eightfold Path’. It consists of three interconnected practices: ethics, meditation, and wisdom. Ethics involves living a moral life and cultivating positive qualities such as generosity, compassion, and honesty. Meditation involves training the mind to develop concentration, mindfulness, and insight. Wisdom involves gaining a deep understanding of the nature of reality and the interconnectedness of all things. The Threefold Path emphasizes the importance of integrating these three practices into one’s life in order to develop the wisdom, ethical conduct, and mental discipline necessary to achieve liberation. By following the Threefold Path, individuals can cultivate greater awareness, inner peace, and compassion towards all living beings.

Teachings and Legacy

Buddha spent the remainder of his life traveling and teaching, sharing his insights and wisdom with anyone who would listen. His teachings emphasize the importance of living a virtuous life, cultivating mindfulness and compassion, and understanding the impermanence and interconnectedness of all things. He founded a community of monks and nuns who followed his teachings, known as the Sangha, and established a tradition that has lasted for over two millennia.

Stories of Buddha

Throughout history, many stories have been told about Buddha and his teachings. One famous story tells of how he confronted a wild elephant that was terrorizing a village. Instead of using force, Buddha simply walked up to the elephant and calmly spoke to it, eventually calming the animal down. Another story recounts how he once healed a sick monk by simply teaching him to meditate and focus his mind.

Nirvana and Death

Buddha passed away at the age of 80 in Kushinagar, India, having spent his life dedicated to helping others find enlightenment. According to tradition, he attained nirvana, a state of ultimate liberation from the cycle of birth, death, and rebirth. Nirvana is often described as a state of pure consciousness, beyond the limitations of the material world. Buddha’s death was a significant moment in Buddhist history, marking the passing of its founder and the emergence of a new era for his teachings.


Buddha’s teachings of the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path continue to inspire and guide people towards inner peace and happiness. Through his life story, we learn the importance of compassion, mindfulness, and non-attachment. The legacy of Buddha remains relevant today, as his message of spiritual liberation resonates with people of all backgrounds and cultures.

Leave a Reply