Kundalini Yoga:Awakening Inner Potential

Kundalini Yoga:Awakening Inner Potential

Kundalini Yoga is a holistic practice, combining movement, breath control, meditation, and chanting. It aims to strengthen the body while elevating self-awareness and consciousness. The core of this practice involves awakening dormant energy, called Kundalini, situated at the spine’s base. As it ascends through the seven chakras, full enlightenment is achieved at the crown chakra. Unlike exercise-based yogas like Iyengar or Bikram, Kundalini Yoga offers a deeply spiritual experience with its unique chanting component. Hatha Yoga includes self-reflection, but it doesn’t have the chanting like Kundalini Yoga.


Kundalini, a term derived from Sanskrit, finds its origins in “Kundal,” denoting a coiled or ring-like form. Picture a snake encircling something, its head poised atop the coil, guarding a hidden treasure. In Vedic lore, this imagery symbolizes Kundalini, a potent and latent energy within us. We’re all born with this dormant power, akin to a sleeping serpent. However, it can awaken through natural processes or deliberate practices like meditation, yoga, Pranayama, and Kriyas.

In ancient Indian folklore, serpents were the protectors of precious gems, akin to how Kundalini safeguards our inner gem – our untapped potential. When roused, Kundalini embarks on a transformative journey, ascending from the Muladhara Chakra at the base of the spine to the Third Eye or Ajna Chakra. Along the way, it touches and unlocks each Chakra, revitalizing our entire being.

History of Kundalini Yoga

In 1968, Yogi Bhajan introduced Kundalini Yoga to the Western world, teaching it in California. He went on to establish 3HO (the Healthy, Happy, Holy Organization) in 1969 to make Kundalini yoga accessible to a wider audience. Prior to this, Kundalini was solely practiced in India within the guru- shishya (teacher-student) tradition. Yogi Bhajan believed in sharing its benefits with everyone.


In Kundalini Yoga, structured sequences of poses with specialized breathing techniques are known as kriyas. These kriyas harness the power of bandhas, which channel energy to specific body regions, enhancing the pose’s impact. Kriyas vary, from swift, repetitive motions to extended pose holds. In group classes, instructors often select kriyas designed to benefit the majority, tailoring the practice for overall well-being.


In yoga, gestures called mudras, primarily made with the hands, convey unique messages to the mind and body. The Anjali mudra, akin to a prayer position, joins the palms with thumbs against the chest, instilling serenity and balance in both body and mind. Meanwhile, the Gyan mudra, a staple in Kundalini Yoga, involves pressing the thumb and index finger together, extending the other fingers. This mudra fosters wisdom and receptivity, offering a tangible connection between hand movements and mental states during practice.


A significant aspect of Kundalini Yoga is the chanting of mantras or positive affirmations. These mantras, often in Gurmukhi or occasionally in English, play a vital role in the practice. For instance, “Sat Nam” signifies “I am truth” or “Truth is my identity,” grounding the practitioner in authenticity. “Ong So Hung” translates to “Creator, I am Thou,” fostering a connection with the divine. Mantras like “Guru Guru Wahe Guru Guru Ram Das Guru” honor the wisdom of serving Infinity. “Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo” bows to the Creative Wisdom and the Divine Teacher within, enhancing the spiritual journey.

Seven Chakras

Seven Chakras in our body

Inside our bodies, there are seven main energy centers called chakras. Each chakra is connected to a specific part of our body and represents different types of energy.

Root Chakra (Muladhara): This chakra is about feeling safe and connected to the Earth. It’s at the base of the spine.

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana): This chakra is linked to creativity and sexuality. It’s in the lower abdomen.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): This chakra affects our self-esteem and relationships. It’s in the upper abdomen.

Heart Chakra (Anahata): This chakra relates to love and compassion. It’s in the chest area.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): This chakra is tied to communication and self-expression. It’s at the base of the neck.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): This chakra involves intuition and insight. It’s between the eyes.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): This chakra connects us to the divine and spirituality. It’s at the top of the head.

In Kundalini yoga, certain postures called mudras activate energy in the spine, moving it upwards. However, this energy typically reaches only the Sixth Chakra, the Third Eye (Ajna). The Seventh Chakra, the Crown (Sahasrara), is considered beyond the physical body and isn’t typically reached through this practice.

Benefits of Kundalini

Kundalini Yoga, a unique and holistic practice, offers a wide array of benefits that cater to both mental and physical well-being, making it accessible and beneficial for people of all ages.

1. Reduced Stress and Anxiety

Numerous studies have highlighted Kundalini Yoga’s prowess in alleviating stress and anxiety. Elementary and middle school students who engaged in this practice for 10 weeks showed significant improvements in stress levels and resilience. Similar stress-reduction benefits have been observed in adults.

2. Improved Cognition and Mood

Aging often comes with cognitive challenges, but a 12-week Kundalini Yoga program has shown promise in improving age-related cognitive decline, including memory and executive functioning. Furthermore, it has a positive impact on mood, with participants reporting reduced feelings of depression and apathy, along with increased resilience.

3. Healthier Blood Sugar Levels

With diabetes affecting a substantial portion of the population, Kundalini Yoga presents a potential solution. It appears to lower blood sugar levels, in part by reducing hormones that contribute to elevated glucose levels. Additionally, it aids in weight management, a critical aspect for individuals with type 2 diabetes, as obesity is a significant factor in this condition.

4. Better Flexibility

Kundalini Yoga isn’t just about mental well-being; it also enhances physical flexibility. A study involving college women demonstrated that 16 weeks of regular sessions significantly improved participants’ flexibility. This newfound flexibility can be a boon for those dealing with back pain, as it stretches muscles and ligaments, potentially reducing discomfort. Yoga’s ability to boost circulation further aids in delivering healing oxygen and nutrients to troubled areas.
Kundalini Yoga’s manifold advantages extend well beyond these points. The practice’s emphasis on controlled breathing, specific poses (kriyas), and mantra chanting contributes to an overall sense of balance and well-being. It fosters inner peace and spirituality, promoting not just physical health, but also mental clarity and emotional resilience.

Whether you’re seeking stress relief, cognitive enhancement, improved blood sugar management, increased flexibility, or a combination of these benefits, Kundalini Yoga presents a holistic approach to wellness, catering to the diverse needs of individuals in today’s fast-paced world. Embracing this practice can lead to a healthier, more balanced life.

Leave a Reply