Categories: Hindu God and Goddess

Ashta Matrika:A Revered Group of Goddesses

The Ashta Matrika, often referred to as the “Eight Mothers,” are a revered group of goddesses deeply rooted in Hinduism. These divine figures are typically depicted in Hindu art and mythology, either as a group of seven known as the Sapta Matrika or as a group of eight, the Ashta Matrika. Each of these goddesses is intricately connected to a major Hindu deity, either as a spouse or an embodiment of their divine energy. For instance, Brahmani is linked to Lord Brahma, Vaishnavi to Lord Vishnu, and Maheshvari to Lord Shiva. These goddesses play a significant role in Hindu spirituality and symbolize the profound connection between the divine and the maternal forces of creation.

The Story of Ashta Matrika

In ancient times, there was a powerful demon named Andhakasura who had received the gift of immortality from Lord Brahma, making him arrogant and tyrannical. The gods, tormented by him, sought Lord Shiva’s aid. A fierce battle erupted, but when Shiva wounded Andhakasura, his blood spawned countless more demons.

Ashta Matrika

Enraged, Shiva’s fiery breath gave birth to Yogishwari, and seven other goddesses emerged from different deities. They became known as the Ashta Matrika, each with their worship day. Devotees who honor them on Ashtami, the eighth day, are blessed. The ritual use of the sacred bael fruit holds great significance in this celebration.

According to the Devi Mahatmya, the Ashta Matrika or Ashta Matara consists of the following goddesses.

Brahmani (Brahmi)


She embodies the power of Lord Brahma, the creator. Brahmani is depicted as yellow in color with four heads and may have four or six arms. She holds a rosary, water pot, book, or bell and is often seated on a swan.


Aum Dhevee Brahmani Vidmahe
Maha-shakthiyai Cha Dhimahee
Thanno Dhevee Prachodayath



The power of Lord Vishnu, Vaishnavi, is seated on the eagle-man Garuda. She has four or six arms and carries a conch, discus, mace, and lotus. Her adornments are resplendent, including necklaces, anklets, and a cylindrical crown.


Aum Thaarksh Yathwajaaya Vidmahe
Chakra Hasthaya Dhimahee
Thanno Vaishnavi Prachodayath



This goddess represents the power of Lord Shiva and is seated on the bull, Nandi. Maheshvari has a white complexion, three eyes, and wields a trident, drum, and garland of beads, among other symbols.


Aum Vrushath-vajaaya Vidmahe
Miruga Hasthaya Dhimahee
Thanno Rowthree Prachodayath



Indrani is the Shakti of Lord Indra, the ruler of heaven. She rides on a charging elephant and can have two, four, or six arms. Her arsenal includes a thunderbolt, goad, noose, and lotus (padma) stalk.


Aum Gajath-vajaayai Vidmahe
Vajra Hasthaya Dhimahee
Thanno Indrani Prachodayath



Kaumari is linked to Kumara (Kartikeya), the god of war. She rides a peacock and can have four or twelve arms. Her weaponry includes a spear, axe, and bow.


Aum Sikid-vajaaya Vidmahe
Vajra Hasthaya Dhimahee
Thanno Kumari Prachodayath

Varahi (Vairali)


Varahi embodies the power of Varaha, the boar-headed form of Vishnu, or Yama, the god of death. She has a boar head on a human body and may ride a ram or buffalo. Varahi carries various weapons, including a rod of punishment and a sword.


Aum Varaaha-muhi Vidmahe
Aanthra-shani Dhimahee
Thanno Yamuna Prachodayath

Chamunda (Chamundi)


Chamunda, closely related to Kali, is depicted as dark-colored and fearsome. She wears a garland of severed heads and wields a damaru, trishula, sword, and panapatra. Often, she is associated with standing on a corpse.


Aum Pisaasath-vajaaya Vidmahe
Soola Hasthaya Dhimahee
Thanno Kali Prachodayath



Narasimhi represents the power of Narasimha, the lion-man form of Vishnu. She takes on the form of a woman-lion and is said to disrupt the stars with her mane.


Aum Sarabheshwara Saantha Kaarini Vidmahe
Ugra Narasimha Shakthi Swaroopini Dheemahi


It’s important to note that the names and characteristics of the seventh and eighth Matrika can vary in different texts and traditions. Some sources mention Yami and Yogishwari, while others include Maha-Lakshmi or Vinayaki. The Ashta Matrika or Eight Mothers are revered for their divine powers and attributes, contributing to the rich tapestry of Hindu mythology and spirituality.


Krishna Das is an experienced article writer. He writes about Hinduism in his spare time.

Recent Posts

Shiva and Shakti: The Divine Masculine and Feminine Energies

In the tradition of Shaivism, a major branch of yogic philosophy, the divine masculine and…

5 hours ago

Ekalavya: The Dedicated Archer of the Mahabharata

Ekalavya is a renowned character from the Indian epic, the Mahabharata. Known for his exceptional…

1 day ago

Phalharini Kali Puja: The Worship of Goddess Kali as the Giver of Fruits

In the vast pantheon of Hindu deities, Goddess Kali holds a distinctive and revered place.…

2 days ago

Agni Sukta:The Vedic Hymn to Agni

The Agni Sukta, a hymn from the ancient Rigveda, honors Agni, the God of Fire.…

3 days ago

Yayati: The Progenitor of the Yadavas and Pandavas

Yayati, an Abhira king celebrated in Hindu tradition, is a significant figure in the Chandravamsha…

4 days ago

Gaja Lakshmi:The Bestower of Animal Wealth

In the vast pantheon of Hindu deities, Goddess Lakshmi stands as the epitome of wealth,…

6 days ago

This website uses cookies.